This is the official forum for the free, fan-made Age of Empires III modification, Wars of Liberty.

Welcome to the New Forum

We hope you enjoy the official new forum of the Wars of Liberty mod for Age of Empires III! Visit this thread to get acquainted with the new forum, and let us know if there's anything we can fix. Feel free to dismiss this message at any time by clicking the "X" in the top right corner.

Thanks!
The Wars of Liberty Team

Forum rules

  • Welcome to The Library! This forum is for asking questions about modding, and sharing maps, mods, and other creations.
  • The official language in this forum is English.
  • Be nice to other members, don't spam comments or smilies, and don't do anything illegal.
  • Posts that don't fit this forum will be moved or deleted.
 
User avatar
deane.diony
Topic Author
Mooing Cow
Mooing Cow
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 9:44 am

Mill/Plantation Modding

Sun May 13, 2018 9:52 am

The Rice Paddy, Native American Farm all work in the sense that a village gathers from them but doesnt actually move from there current position when they are gathering.

With the europeon mills and plantations, they activily move around causing some lagging issues in bigger games as they collide into each other.

Would anyone know how to mod it so when a villager goes to gather from a building they stay in the one position. (For clarification when a villager goes to pray at a temple, they dont move. I want that behavoir transfered to mills and plantations.)
 
User avatar
Tzommar
Ancient Empires Team
Ancient Empires Team
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 1:44 am

Re: Mill/Plantation Modding

Tue May 15, 2018 7:48 pm

- Make a new mill (protoy.xml)
- Make it available for settlers (also protoy)
- Make it available for the civs (techtreey.xml)

Settlers only walk in the vanilla's mill-like buildings
 
User avatar
deane.diony
Topic Author
Mooing Cow
Mooing Cow
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 9:44 am

Re: Mill/Plantation Modding

Thu May 17, 2018 11:45 am

Thanks for the info, but what actually determines that trait. Is it something in protoy or in the abilities menu?
 
User avatar
Tzommar
Ancient Empires Team
Ancient Empires Team
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 1:44 am

Re: Mill/Plantation Modding

Thu May 17, 2018 1:19 pm

Something in .exe
It chooses the vanilla's proto names.
So, at first, hardcoded.
Other proto names will not have it.
 
User avatar
QueenOfYays
Master Engineer
Master Engineer
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 11:56 pm
Favorite Civilization: Americans

Re: Mill/Plantation Modding

Mon May 21, 2018 4:02 am

I really wish that they would implement this to the mills and plantations of the European, Latin American, and Anglo Civs in future patches.
 
User avatar
Hoop Thrower
Wars of Liberty Team
Wars of Liberty Team
Posts: 993
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 9:17 pm
Location: Kingdom of Araucania & Patagonia
Favorite Civilization: Mapuche
ESO: HoopThrower
Steam: hoop_thrower
Contact:

Re: Mill/Plantation Modding

Mon May 21, 2018 4:04 am

We will not
 
User avatar
Rampo
Naffatun
Naffatun
Posts: 473
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 2:33 pm
Location: Vung Tau City, Vietnam
Steam: BG_Rampo

Re: Mill/Plantation Modding

Mon May 21, 2018 2:46 pm

it's take a bunch of time to perform upgrade tech and gain villagers to gather from new things, QueenOfYays
that means, there's no need to do this
ESP: Sin amor, el mundo se hundirá en la guerra
POR: Sem amor, o mundo afundará na guerra
ENG: Without love, the world will sink in war

BG Rampo

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alucard and 0 guests