This is the official forum for the free, fan-made Age of Empires III modification, Wars of Liberty.

Welcome to the New Forum

We hope you enjoy the official new forum of the Wars of Liberty mod for Age of Empires III! Visit this thread to get acquainted with the new forum, and let us know if there's anything we can fix. Feel free to dismiss this message at any time by clicking the "X" in the top right corner.

Thanks!
The Wars of Liberty Team

Forum rules

  • Welcome to The Hospital! This forum is for bugs and error reporting.
  • The official language in this forum is English.
  • Be nice to other members, don't spam comments or smilies, and don't do anything illegal.
  • Posts that don't fit this forum will be moved or deleted.
 
User avatar
ThatRussianYouKnow
Topic Author
Paisano
Paisano
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:06 am
Location: USA

Name Generator Bug

Mon Dec 24, 2018 2:28 pm

Alright, so I had this posted in the most recent patch's post but it never got any attention, so I am posting this here in the bug reports. Basically what I have found was that when you make a new Home City as of the most recent patch (Patch 1.0.11), that some civilizations such as the Tupi, Americans, Australians, Canadians, Mapuche, Incas, Serbians, Bulgarians, and more that would make a long list, have their explorer's name generated and it does not fit their civilization's culture i.e. for Americans, it generates the name Ajax, Arkantos (which by the way is banned for being profane for some strange reason), Brokk, Aramana, and so forth. Could someone find a fix to this please?
 
User avatar
Septafolia
Wars of Liberty Team
Wars of Liberty Team
Posts: 614
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 10:40 pm
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota Territory
Favorite Civilization: Danish

Re: Name Generator Bug

Mon Dec 24, 2018 2:33 pm

Yes, by giving us better lists of random names to use for those civs. Those names are placeholders.
Image
 
User avatar
ThatRussianYouKnow
Topic Author
Paisano
Paisano
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:06 am
Location: USA

Re: Name Generator Bug

Tue Dec 25, 2018 2:00 am

Septafolia wrote: Yes, by giving us better lists of random names to use for those civs. Those names are placeholders.
No, but you don't understand. The generator worked before and gave relevant names that weren't Ajax or some sort of other weird names prior to the patch, and now it's gone weird. I'm not sure if it's a problem on my end or the patch itself.
 
User avatar
Hoop Thrower
Wars of Liberty Team
Wars of Liberty Team
Posts: 1355
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 9:17 pm
Location: Kingdom of Araucania & Patagonia
Favorite Civilization: Mapuche
ESO: HoopThrower
Steam: hoop_thrower
Contact:

Re: Name Generator Bug

Tue Dec 25, 2018 5:04 am

The Generator never worked for those civs you mentioned so I'm not sure what are you going on about.
 
User avatar
Doctorwho2485
Guerrillero
Guerrillero
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 8:12 am
Location: Dunedin, New Zealand.
Favorite Civilization: Dutch

Re: Name Generator Bug

Wed Dec 26, 2018 9:26 am

Or just changed the name on it. Simple.
 
User avatar
ThatRussianYouKnow
Topic Author
Paisano
Paisano
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:06 am
Location: USA

Re: Name Generator Bug

Thu Dec 27, 2018 3:39 am

Hoop Thrower wrote: The Generator never worked for those civs you mentioned so I'm not sure what are you going on about.
OOF well I think experienced the Mandela effect then. Thanks for clarifying, and happy holidays to all. :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest